Awards and citations:

1997: Le Prix du Champagne Lanson Noble Cuvée Award for investigations into Champagne for the Millennium investment scams

2001: Le Prix Champagne Lanson Ivory Award for

2011: Vindic d'Or MMXI – 'Meilleur blog anti-1855'

2011: Robert M. Parker, Jnr: ‘This blogger...’:

2012: Born Digital Wine Awards: No Pay No Jay – best investigative wine story

2012: International Wine Challenge – Personality of the Year Award

Thursday, 20 May 2010

Circle of Wine Writers AGM: 50th year.

Julie Arkell (retiring chair) and Steven Spurrier (president of the Circle)
The Circle of Wine Writers was founded in 1960 in London by Cyril Ray. In a much changed world it now has around 275 members around the world and is probably the oldest association of wine communicators in the world. I have been the editor of the Circle's newsletter – Circle Update – since 1991. 
Here are some photos from the 2010 annual general meeting, which was held on Monday 17th May at the offices of Moët Hennessy in central London.
 "Hope everyone has read last year's minutes!" Steven Spurrier 

Members arriving and signing in
Neville Blech (treasurer) and Andrea Warren (administrator) check last minute item on accounts
Rosemary George MW, Eduardo Brethauner, Stephen Skelton MW

During its 50 year history the Circle has had some exciting and controversial AGMs but this year was all sweetness and light. Stuart Walton was elected unopposed as the new chair of the Circle succeeding Julie Arkell, who is stepping down.

No comments: