Awards and citations:

1997: Le Prix du Champagne Lanson Noble Cuvée Award for investigations into Champagne for the Millennium investment scams

2001: Le Prix Champagne Lanson Ivory Award for

2011: Vindic d'Or MMXI – 'Meilleur blog anti-1855'

2011: Robert M. Parker, Jnr: ‘This blogger...’:

2012: Born Digital Wine Awards: No Pay No Jay – best investigative wine story

2012: International Wine Challenge – Personality of the Year Award

Thursday, 22 March 2012

Tony Aspler elected to Wine Media Guild of New York Wine Writers’ Hall of Fame

Tony Aspler in London May 2009

Tony Aspler, Canada's leading wine writer, has just been elected to the Wine Media Guild of New York Wine Writers’ Hall of Fame. Here is the notice of his election:    

'Congratulations! We are writing to tell you that you have been elected to the Wine Media Guild of New York Wine Writers’ Hall of Fame. The Wine Media Guild is a professional association of 50 leading US wine writers, authors and journalists. It was founded in 1976. Membership in the Guild is based on sponsorship and election by the members. [See our website for a list of members: and click on "Members." ]

In 2007, we established the Wine Writers’ Hall of Fame to recognize and honor, by induction, individuals who have made significant contributions to the body of wine writing and education. Each year, individuals who have had exceptional careers and significant achievements as wine authors, journalists or educators are nominated and elected by a committee of their peers. Consideration is on a global basis.  Previous Inductees include, among others: Michael Broadbent, Robert Parker, Kevin Zraly, Steven Spurrier, Matt Kramer, Hugh Johnson, Jancis Robinson, James Halladay, Peter Sichel, Gerald Boyd, Dan Berger, Ed McCarthy and Karen MacNeil. [Go to and click on "Hall of Fame" for photos and bios of previous Inductees].'

No comments: