Awards and citations:

1997: Le Prix du Champagne Lanson Noble Cuvée Award for investigations into Champagne for the Millennium investment scams

2001: Le Prix Champagne Lanson Ivory Award for

2011: Vindic d'Or MMXI – 'Meilleur blog anti-1855'

2011: Robert M. Parker, Jnr: ‘This blogger...’:

2012: Born Digital Wine Awards: No Pay No Jay – best investigative wine story

2012: International Wine Challenge – Personality of the Year Award

Sunday, 7 December 2014

2014 André Simon Food & Drink Book Awards

Wink Lorch with her Jura Wine book@the 2014 Real Wine Fair
The shortlist for the annual André Simon Food & Drink Book Awards has been announced. The awards are intended to showcase the best of contemporary drink and food writing. The panel was guided by the help and advice of this year’s independent assessors, Booker Prize winner Julian Barnes and cookery writer and author Annie Bell.

The shortlisted books for the 2014 drink category are:
Jura Wine with local food and travel by Wink Lorch (Wine Travel Media)
Natural Wine by Isabelle Legeron (Cico Books)

Sediment by Paul Keers and Charles Jennings (John Blake Publishing)
Sherry by Talia Baiocchi (Ten Speed Press)
Wine Atlas of Germany by Dieter Braatz, Ulrich Sautter and Ingo Swoboa (University of California Press)

The shortlisted books for the 2014 prize in the food category are:
A Year at Otter Farm by Mark Diacono (Bloomsbury Publishing)  
Bread, Cake, Doughnut, Pudding by Justin Gellatly (Fig Tree/Penguin)
Spoonfuls of Honey by Hattie Ellis (Pavilion Books)
Honey & Co by Sarit Parker and Itamar Srulovich (Saltyard Books)
Made in India by Meera Sodha (Fig Tree/Penguin)
The Shed: The Cookbook by Oliver Gladwin, Richard Gladwin & Gregory Gladwin (Kyle Books)
The Virtues of the Table by Julian Baggini (Granta Publications)

Congratulations to all those shortlisted in particular Wink Lorch who crowd funded her book and then produced it on time. 

The winners in each category will receive £2000 and each shortlisted author receives £200. The awards will be presented at a reception at the Goring Hotel in London on 31 March. Previous winners include Michel Roux, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, Nigel Slater and Rick Stein.


No comments: