Awards and citations:

1997: Le Prix du Champagne Lanson Noble Cuvée Award for investigations into Champagne for the Millennium investment scams

2001: Le Prix Champagne Lanson Ivory Award for

2011: Vindic d'Or MMXI – 'Meilleur blog anti-1855'

2011: Robert M. Parker, Jnr: ‘This blogger...’:

2012: Born Digital Wine Awards: No Pay No Jay – best investigative wine story

2012: International Wine Challenge – Personality of the Year Award

Monday, 24 July 2017

2017 Tour de France – final overall standings and some reflections

Dylan Groenewegen wins sprint on 
Champs Elysée from André Griepel

 Chris Froome's 4th Tour de France victory

Michael Matthews comfortably wins Green
 Warren Barguil comfortably wins Climbers' Jersey

 Simon Yates has just over two minutes 
to win Young Riders

 Team Sky win Team – leading from start to finish

Dylan Groenewegen went for a long sprint on the Champs Elysée yesterday and held off the fast closing André Griepel to take his first Tour de France stage win. Griepel had been out of position and too far back at the final bend and left himself too much ground to make up. This means that this is the first Grand Tour, he has entered, since 2007 when he has not won a stage. 

Chris Froome safely completed the ceremonial ride into Paris to claim a remarkable fourth Tour de France win and the third consecutive win. He now becomes the only person to have four Tours and is fifth in line to Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain, who have all win the title five times. 

Fewer mountain top finishes almost certainly made this a closer Tour than usual, although the Giro had plenty of high mountains and the 2017 edition was very close going into the time trial on the last day. 

Froome rode an intelligent race backed by Team Sky clearly the strongest team followed by Romain Bardet's AG2R la Mondiale.

(More to follow.)

No comments: